North Carolina Chapter 17

The North Carolina Chapter of the DNA was established in 1990. Currently we have about 100 members.

Chapter History

A small group of Dermatology Nurses from Durham and Winston-Salem met at Duke University in July, 1990 to establish a North Carolina Chapter of the National Dermatology Nurses’ Association. A chapter proposal was drawn up and officers were elected. Dawn Douglas from Winston-Salem was elected as the first President. Carol Meyers from Chapel Hill was elected President-Elect. Edna Atwater, President-Elect of the National DNA, chaired the meeting and was elected advisor to the Board of Directors.

The first chapter meeting was held in Winston-Salem on October 13, 1991 at the Sawtooth Center for Visual Design. Dr. Barry Leshin spoke on Moh’s Surgery. Every year since, the NC-DNA has presented an annual CEAU meeting with excellent speakers. This meeting is usually held in the Fall of the year.

Board of Directors

President: Joanie Jones, RN, DNC
President Elect: Tara Biggers, CMA
Immediate Past President: Robin Inabinet, RN-BC
Recording/Corresponding: Teresa Matthews, CMA
Treasurer: Judy Daley, RN, BSN
Advisor: Mary Fish, RN
Advisor: Linda Markham, RN, DNC


The Board of Directors and Advisors hold a Post Meeting following the Annual CEAU Meeting. Planning meetings for the upcoming Annual CEAU Meeting begin each spring, usually with a weekend gathering to brainstorm and bond. Other Board of Director and Planning Meetings are then held on an as needed basis, usually monthly, until the Fall Meeting. All members of the NC-DNA Chapter #17 are encouraged to join us by attending and helping us in the planning process. Please contact us if you would like to be a part of your chapter’s planning.

Contact Us
For more information about this chapter, please contact the DNA National office via email or contact us online so we can assist you.